On buying nothing in 2018

by Chelsey

A friend posted Ann Patchett’s essay, My Year of No Shopping, and I admit I am intrigued. I walk around my house dodging piles of absolute crap every day: crap that was lovingly gifted to our boys, crap that I’ve lazily shoved into stacks to be dealt with at some later date that never materializes, crap that my heterosexual life partner has stealthily acquired (therefore depriving me of ever giving him a meaningful present).

So…the idea is appealing. Of course, “no shopping” doesn’t mean “no groceries” and it doesn’t include depriving my children of clothing or school supplies. And, like Patchett, I’m not trying to deprive our economy of my paltry stimulus. What I’d like to do is quit having stuff for the sake of having something “new” or “better.” I want to make do, and I want to do. Like I tell my kids at Christmas, “stuff” isn’t happiness; it’s what you do with it that brings memories. So rather than buying stuff in 2018, I want to spend my money on experiences: going places, doing things with my kids. Hiking, camping, exploring; even reading books and sleeping out in the backyard.

Based on the contents of my closet and dresser, I don’t need more clothes. I used a Christmas gift card to buy winter boots and hiking boots, the shoes my closet was lacking, so I don’t need more shoes. I don’t need books, as I have a library card. I don’t need decorations because I have children and therefore not shortage of craft and art projects. I don’t need gear for camping or hiking. I don’t need jewelry or makeup.

I will probably need some plants for the garden beds, socks for hiking, gas for the car. We’re still going to eat out occasionally. That’s just good mental healthcare.

As for subscriptions…this is where I am unsure. We don’t need basic cable, Netflix, or HBO, but I would miss them — especially PBS. I subscribe to the New Yorker and would miss that too. Should we cancel them?

And as for perseverance, how long can I keep this up? All of 2018? I’d like to, but I’m sure there are many things I haven’t thought of. So I’m going to aim for January. Start small. See how it goes.